Skip to main content
About IU


Meet our trustees, president, vice presidents, and chancellors.

The Board of Trustees

The Trustees of Indiana University are IU’s governing board and legal owner. IU alumni elect three of the nine trustees, and Indiana’s governor appoints the other six, including one student. The board meets six times a year, and meetings are open to the public.


Pamela Whitten
Pamela Whitten

Pamela Whitten, a visionary scholar, became IU's nineteenth president on July 1, 2021.

President Whitten's biography Office of the President

Vice Presidents

John S. Applegate
John S. Applegate Interim Executive Vice President and IU Bloomington Provost

He was appointed Interim Provost in 2021. He has been at IU for 23 years and is the James L. Calamaras Professor of Law.

John Applegate’s biography Provost and Executive VP
Jay L. Hess
Jay L. Hess Executive Vice President for University Clinical Affairs

He became dean in 2013. In that role, he administers all nine campuses of the School of Medicine.

Jay Hess’s biography IU School of Medicine
Nasser H. Paydar
Nasser H. Paydar Executive Vice President and IUPUI Chancellor

He was appointed chancellor in 2015. He has also been an IU faculty member for more than 30 years.

Nasser Paydar’s biography Chancellor and Executive VP
Susan Sciame-Giesecke
Susan Sciame-Giesecke Interim Executive Vice President for University Academic Affairs

She was appointed to her interim role in 2021. She is also the IU Kokomo Chancellor.  

Susan Sciame-Giesecke’s biography University Academic Affairs
Karen Adams
Karen Adams Chief of Staff, Office of the President

She was appointed in 2007. In her role, she advises and represents the president on a wide range of operational and organizational initiatives, and manages the day-to-day operations of the office.

Office of the President
Sam Adams
Sam Adams Interim Vice President and Chief Financial Officer Associate Vice President for Budget and Planning

He was appointed in 2021. He is the university’s top fiscal officer and oversees budgetary and financial issues across nine campuses.

Sam Adams's biography VP and Chief Financial Officer
Hannah Buxbaum
Hannah Buxbaum Vice President for International Affairs

She was appointed in 2018. She is also the John E. Schiller Chair in the Maurer School of Law.

Hannah Buxbaum’s biography International Affairs
Rebecca Carl
Rebecca Carl Interim Vice President for Communications and Marketing

She was appointed in 2021. She leads IU Studios, Indiana University’s marketing and communications hub, and works with leaders across the university to help tell IU’s story.

Communications and Marketing
Fred H. Cate
Fred H. Cate Vice President for Research

He has held the position since 2015. He is also an Indiana University Distinguished Professor and the C. Ben Dutton Professor of Law.

Fred Cate’s biography Research
Scott Dolson
Scott Dolson Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics

He was appointed to the position in July 2020. His work with IU Athletics started when he served as a student manager for the men’s basketball team in the 80s.

Scott Dolson’s biography IU Athletics
J T. Forbes
J T. Forbes Interim President and CEO of IU Foundation Executive Director of IU Alumni Association

He was appointed Interim President in 2021 and CEO of the IU Alumni Association in 2010.

J T. Forbes's biography
Laura Kress
Laura Kress Interim Vice President for University Human Resources

She was appointed Interim Vice President for Human Resources in August of 2021. Laura began her career at IU in 1998 supporting IT and has been the Senior Director of HR Operations since 2007.

Laura Kress’s Biography Human Resources
Rob Lowden
Rob Lowden Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer

He leads university-wide IT services on all nine campuses.

Rob Lowden’s biography Vice President for IT and CIO
Thomas A. Morrison
Thomas A. Morrison Vice President for Capital Planning and Facilities

He was appointed to the position in 2009 and is responsible for the physical infrastructure and development of IU’s nine campuses.

Thomas Morrison’s biography Capital Planning and Facilities
Jacqueline Simmons
Jacqueline Simmons Vice President and General Counsel

She has held the position since 2012. She is the university’s chief legal officer, representing and directing representation of Indiana University in all legal matters.

Jacqueline Simmons’s biography VP and General Counsel
Bill Stephan
Bill Stephan Vice President for Government Relations and Economic Engagement

He is responsible for connecting Indiana University’s resources and expertise with key constituencies in business, industry and government, raising awareness of IU’s critical role in directly contributing to the vitality of the state and nation.

Bill Stephan’s biography Government Relations and Economic Engagement
James Wimbush
James Wimbush Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Multicultural Affairs

He is also the dean of the University Graduate School and the Johnson Chair for Diversity and Leadership.

James Wimbush’s biography Diversity, Equity and Multicultural Affairs

Regional campus chancellors

These chancellors lead IU’s regional campuses.

Kathryn Girten
Kathryn Girten IU East Chancellor IU Southeast Acting Chancellor

She was appointed to her roles as IU East Chancellor in 2013 and IU Southeast Acting Chancellor in 2021. Previously, she was the provost and vice president for academic affairs at California State University, Monterey Bay.

Kathryn Girten’s biography IU East IU Southeast
Susan Elrod
Susan Elrod IU South Bend Chancellor

She was appointed in 2019. She previously served as the provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater.

Susan Elrod’s biography IU South Bend
Ken Iwama
Ken Iwama IU Northwest Chancellor

He was appointed in 2020. Previously, he served as the College of Staten Island’s founding Vice President for the Division of Economic Development, Continuing Studies, and Government Relations.

Ken Iwama’s biography IU Northwest
Susan Sciame-Giesecke
Susan Sciame-Giesecke IU Kokomo Chancellor

She was appointed to her role in 2014. Previously, she served as the interim chancellor and the executive vice chancellor for academic affairs at IU Kokomo.

IU Kokomo Office of the Chancellor

Get to know IU

See IU facts and figures, learn about our global locations, meet our leadership, and find out how to contact us.

  • Learn about IU history and find useful facts and statistics.

  • See where to find IU throughout the world.

  • Get in touch with questions and comments.