Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington
  • People  |

collage of photos

News & Events


Five seniors recieve state Spanish, Portuguese award


Archived News

Inaugural Portuguese class in the Summer Language Workshop at IU offers intensive learning in a family atmosphere

Professor Anke Birkenmaier is incoming CLACS director

Department Mourns Passing of Prof. Sainz


New Faculty Member
New Faculty Member
Graduating Senior Spotlight: Sarah TeKolste 

Wells Scholar Sarah TeKolste, a graduating senior with majors in Spanish and Theater, is featured in this exciting video prepared by the Provost's Office about Sarah's fascinating studies and goals. 

Two Majors Win Stahr Awards
Department Mourns Passing of Prof. Sobrer

Department Mourns Passing of Prof. Dávila


4 Spanish majors honored in Indy

Professor Kimberly Geeslin, selected as Routledge’s Author of the Month

IU Spanish major, Christine White, receives prestigious national award as 2014 Truman Scholar

Shabani selected as a Future Faculty Teaching Fellow
Department of Spanish and Portuguese receives $533,000 federal grant for its graduate program
Israel Herrera, Lecturer in the Department of Spanish and Portuguese, has been elected President of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese, Indiana Chapter, for the term 2014-2016.
Edgar Illas is recipient of "2013 North American Catalan Society Prize for Outstanding Work in Catalan Studies" for his book
Kinnally's thesis nominated for ProQuest distinguished dissertation award

Professor Herrera with the elected AEPE president
Professor Darlene Sadlier is recipient of the College’s 2012 Distinguished Faculty Award


Professor Kimberly Geeslin receives GSAC Faculty Mentor award.
  • Professor Kimberly Geeslin received the 2012 Spanish and Portuguese Graduate Student Advisory Committee Faculty Mentor Award in recognition of the diligent guidance and extensive support she has provided for graduate students both in and beyond the classroom.
Fafulas wins NSF dissertation enhancement award

Dissertation Abstract >>


The new volume of IU Working Papers in Linguistics is featuring the work of our graduate students in Hispanic Linguistics.

Undergraduate Spanish major and recent IU graduate, Rachel Geissler (BA ’13, Spanish and Anthropology) was awarded a prestigious Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship in Mexico for 2013-2014.




Donald Riskind article