Indiana University Bloomington
Choose which site to search

Curriculum Development Stipends Call for Applications

Curriculum Development Stipends


Through funding from the U.S. Department of Education, six Title VI National Resource Centers plan to award stipends to faculty at community colleges and minority-serving institutions to develop and incorporate greater content about Russia, Eastern Europe, and Eurasia into the curricula of the institutions at which they teach. These National Resource Centers (NRCs) receive grants under the Higher Education Act to train specialists in the study of the countries of this region and to work with other postsecondary institutions to expand Russian, East European, and Eurasian content in the classroom. Faculty at community colleges and minority-serving institutions throughout the U.S. are invited to apply for a course development stipend. Awards will be from $1,000-$3,000. All full-time, regular part-time, and adjunct faculty are encouraged to apply. Applicants can propose to redesign an existing course or to develop a new course including at least 25% content on Russia, Eastern Europe, and/or Eurasia. Please see below for a complete list of countries that would be relevant.  Funds will be made available to awardees in the form of a stipend and/or for purchase of curriculum materials, research related travel (including conference attendance), or consultation with a faculty member from a participating NRC. Awardees can also access the library of one participating NRC during the funding period.

2014-15 Call for Applications.pdf

Application Deadline: Monday, December 15, 2014.  Please email completed applications to Eileen Kunkler at Award notifications will be sent out by early January 2015.

Applicable Countries:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Estonia
  • Greece
  • Georgia
  • Hungary
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kosovo
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Macedonia
  • Moldova
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Russia (including Tatarstan)
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Tajikistan
  • Tatarstan
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • Uzbekistan

Participating Centers:
Indiana U., Inner Asian & Uralic National Resource Center
Indiana U., Russian & East European Institute
Ohio State University, Center for Slavic & East European Studies
U. of California, Berkeley, Institute of Slavic, East European, & Eurasian Studies
U. of Pittsburgh, Center for Russian & East European Studies
U. of Washington, Ellison Center for Russian, East European, & Central Asian Studies

For more information or questions, please contact Eileen Kunkler, the assistant director at the Center for Slavic and East European Studies at Ohio State, at